Lectionary Blogging, Kind of

Two things you should know about this week:

  1. We are a week behind the lectionary, because we had a fairly spontaneous youth-led Sunday last week, and there is NO WAY I am skipping the story of Jacob wrestling God. So we will be focusing on Genesis 32:22-31.
  2. In my worship planning, I picked up this book to find a poem to use as a call to worship…and now I can’t put it down, and I just want to stand up on Sunday and read Rilke.
    IMG_0881I’m not going to do that, but I am going to share this poem with you which is one of my favorites. It has very little to do with the story of Jacob, but I’ll be using one of the more fitting poems on Sunday and didn’t want to double up. If you’re looking for something to read devotionally that isn’t, well, a devotional, I highly recommend this book. It is an absolute fountain of spiritual honesty, depth, and wisdom.

Gott spricht zu jeden nur, eh er ihn macht
by Rainer Maria Rilke

God speaks to each of us as he makes us,
then walks with us silently out of the night.

These are the words we dimly hear:

You, sent out beyond your recall,
go to the limits of your longing.
Embody me.

Flare up like flame
and make big shadows I can move in.

Let everything happen to you: beauty and terror.
Just keep going. No feeling is final.
Don’t let yourself lose me.

Nearby is the country they call life.
You will know it by its seriousness.

Give me your hand.

About Stacey Midge

Minister, musician, hockey fan, dog lover, food and drink aficionado, and occasional social justice warrior.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

